www.eapec2018.ir www.eapec2018.ir EAPEC2018-app EAPEC2018-app

Professor Abraham Hartzema

Professor Abraham Hartzema dr

Abraham G. Hartzema PharmD, MSPH, PhD, FISPE

Professor and Eminent Scholar, Perry A. Foote Chair in Health Outcomes and Pharmacoeconomics Professor, Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, College of Public Health and Health Professions University of Florida

Dr. Hartzema investigates health outcomes with an emphasis on pharmacoepidemiology, passive and active drug safety surveillance systems, therapeutic risk management, and program evaluation. He has served as principal and co-investigator on major grants from the National Institutes of Health, government entities, foundations and the pharmaceutical industry. He has co-authored and edited three books, two of which are in multiple editions, two monographs, one of which is translated in several languages, and has published and presented more than 100 chapters, journal articles, abstracts and presentations. He has served on the Scientific Board of the International Pharmaceutical Federation, and serves or served on eight editorial boards. He is the recipient of the 2007 UF Foundation research Award. He is an elected Fellow of the International Society for Pharmacoepidemiology. In 2008-2009, he spent his sabbatical in the Immediate Office of the Food and Drug Administration’s Commissioner working on the Sentinel system.

Abraham G. Hartzema is Professor and Eminent Scholar at the University of Florida in the Department of Pharmaceutical Outcomes & Policy. He is the Perry A. Foote Chair in Health Outcomes Research, and Professor in Epidemiology and Biostatistics in the College of Public Health and the College of Medicine. In the year 2007, he was awarded the University of Florida Foundation Research award.

Dr. Hartzema has widely published on various aspects of prescription drug safety, including several books on Pharmacoepidemiology. His last book is entitled “Pharmacoepidemiology and Therapeutic Risk Management” was published by Harvey Whitney Book Publishers. Co-edited with Hugh Tilson (UNC-Chapel Hill) and Arnold Chan (Harvard University) the book reflects the new therapeutic risk management paradigm as implemented by the US FDA.

He has served on the scientific board of the FIP from 1988-1996; and on editorial boards, including Medical Care, Annals of Pharmacotherapy, Clinical Therapeutics, the International Journal of Pharmacy Practice, Pulmonary Circulation and others. In 2003 he was bestowed fellow status in the International Society on Pharmacoepidemiology. He has been the Chair of Data Safety and Monitoring Boards. He has also served on the University of Florida Graduate Council, and grant review panels for AHRQ, FDA, HealthCanada, DSEN, NASA, NIH, and NIHBL. He currently serves on the United States Pharmacopeia: Nomenclature, Safety and Labeling Expert Committee. He was recently appointed as Senior Advisor to the FDA, Center for Devices and Radiological Health. Dr. Hartzema’s research funded by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, NIH, the FDA, the Florida Office of Rural Health and several pharmaceutical companies. His theoretical interests are in data mining techniques, developing metrics for the benefit/risk ratio of drugs, methods development for active medical product safety surveillance, and bias calibration in observational methods.

Dr. Hartzema was on faculty leave (2008–2009) in the US Food and Drug Administration’s Immediate Office of the Commissioner working on the Congressional mandated Sentinel Initiative. He also served as a Principle Investigator on the Observational Medical Outcomes Partnership (OMOP), a public-private partnership between the US-FDA, the Foundation of the National Institute of Health and PhRMA. He is currently a participant in the research group Observational Health Data Sciences and Informatics (OHDSI) research program.


Congress organizers


Congress Supporters Magazines

Congress Poster


Important Dates and Deadlines

Congress Date: 3-5-Janury 2018
Article Submission Deadline: 6 September 2017
22 September 2017
22 October 2017
Deadline Extended : 29 October 2017
Results anuoncment: 22 novamber 2017

Shiraz - Iran

Executive Secretariat

Roxan Fars Branch: Unit3, 1st Floor, 2000 Bulding, Saheli Street, Daneshjoo Sq, Shiraz

Cell Phone: +989037895747
Tel: +98-71-32290003-5
Email: roxanshiraz@gmail.com

Roxan Tehran Branch: Unit6, 3rd Floor, Platinum Building, No.8, Allley4, North Amirabad, Tehran, Iran

Tel: +98-21-88334436-8
Fax: +98-21-88224067
Website: www.roxanco.com | Email: info@roxanco.com

Support Office 1: Unit 1, No 38, Khosravi Alley, North Kargar St., Tehran,Iran

Tel: +98-21-88220772-4
Fax: +98-21-89782374

Support Office 2: Unit 1, No 20, Rostam Alley, North Kargar St.,Enghelab Sq. ,Tehran,Iran

Tell: +98-21-66177463 | +98-21-66177470

Canada Branch: 160 Canyon Hill ave. Richmondhill, Ontrrio

postal code: L4C-0R3
Tel: 001-416-254-1415| Tel: 001-647-202-3155

Congress Permanent Secretariat

Shiraz Address: Pharmacoepidemiology and Pharmacoeconomics Unit, Health Policy Research Center, Shiraz University of Medical Sciences, Shiraz, Iran.
Building No 2, Eighth Floor, School of Medicine, Zand Avenue, Po Box 71345-1877, Shiraz, Iran
Telefax: Tel/Fax: +98-71-32309615
Email: health.policy.research@gmail.com